Conspicuous Consumption
 
Yesterday I went way over my daily calorie goal, consuming 2900 calories versus my target of 1900.  The worst part was that I had  had a great workout earlier in the day that I felt really good about.  Even though the exercise had given me 500 extra calories to work with, I still blew threw them and added an extra 500 I did not need.  How did it happen?  Unfortunately, quite easily.  Both kids had somewhere to be, so my wife and I went to a nice restaurant near our house.  In general, the restaurant serves smaller portions, but the food is very rich.  We split a bowl of soup, a three cheese plate (with bread), two orders of fried oysters served in a sauce, and a large salad with lots of dressing.  I topped it off with a couple of glasses of wine and combined with what I had eaten earlier in the day – 2900 calories.  It was a nice date with my wife, but I am sorry I negated the positive benefits of my workout.  One positive was My Fitness Pal.  By calculating my daily total it provided fairly immediate feedback that I had gone out of bounds for the and need to adjust course.  Before, I might not have thought twice about that level of eating and turned around and done it again the next day and maybe the next. 

Consumption:

Cheerios and bran chex cereal with milk
2 Apples
Chicken sausage
Salad with oil and vinegar dressing
10 almonds
7 pita chips with hummus
8 black olives
Flank steak with kale
Pasta with blue cheese dressing
Blue cheese
2 glasses of wine
1 piece of bread

Exercise:

25 minutes on a stationary bike
10 minutes of rowing machine
10 minutes of weight lifting

My Fitness Pal calculated the exercise was worth 400 calories and so I was inside 

Jane Leighton
1/29/2011 08:07:25 pm

Everyone who diets has to have a few splurges from time to time. Even if you change your whole eating habits for the rest of your life, of course there will be times you overeat. Your goal is still in sight!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.