Conspicuous Consumption
 
There is a song I like by Alexi Murdoch called "Breathe".  The refrain is Don't Forget to Breathe and after listening to it over and over sometimes I get it stuck in my head.  As bad as that might sound it is actually good advice, so there are worse things that could be stuck there.

I am a recreational tennis player.  When I am not playing as well as I should I make little adjustments  to try and improve my game.  Last weekend I was playing in a match and in one such moment I reminded myself to breathe before starting a point.  What often happens when I am about to serve or am receiving a serve is I tense up in anticipation  and then tend to overplay a particular point. By focusing on my breathing I found that I relaxed and started to play better.  As you might imagine this concept has broader applications than tennis or sports.  

In my yoga classes our instructor has us focus on a three part breath called dirga pranayama.  Basically, you focus your attention on your breath as it 1) starts in your abdomen 2) expands your ribs and finally 3) fills  your lungs fully.  Exhale and repeat.  On one level, it is ridiculous to focus on breathing since you cannot make yourself stop breathing for more than about a minute.  After that, your body takes over and forces you to breathe in order to stay alive.  Sometimes when I focus on my breathing I start to freak myself out because I am artificially interfering with something that I otherwise do naturally, without thought.  

However, what sustained three part breathing eliminates is shallow breathing which we tend to do under stress.  After several minutes of focused , conscious deep breathing, I almost always feel better, more refreshed and alive.  So whether it is a tennis match, an important meeting at work or just walking around the grocery store shopping, don't forget to breathe.
jane leighton
8/18/2011 09:10:29 pm

I imagine every yoga student is familiar with this phrase, but after doing yoga for years I must admit I find myself holding my breath sometimes at the dentist or doctor's offices. It's amazing how we tend to inhibit this most natural of processes and thus make ourselves more uncomfortable than we need to.

So glad you're writing again!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.