Conspicuous Consumption
 
I remember seeing a neighbor wearing a T-shirt that on the front said, “Exercise, Eat Healthy”. On the back it said, “Die Anyway”.  The shirt made me laugh because it spoke a painful truth.  No matter how healthy we are, we are going to get old and die.  Moreover, none of us knows how long we are going to live.  Therefore, is it worth the effort to eat healthy food, limit our intake, exercise, or take vitamins?  I might have gotten the answer.  A friend wrote me recently to encourage my efforts.  She is generally a pretty healthy person, I believe she is a vegetarian.  But she said during certain periods of her life she had really concentrated on eating very healthy food and exercising.  She said that during those times, her body felt amazingly good.   I was recently reminded of the opposite possibility.  I had a drippy cold and I remembered how terrible it is to be sick, how it narrows the world and really limits what you can enjoy.  It is true that even if we are lucky, we will get old, probably experience sickness and then die.  But while we are still here, while we still have a healthy body, why not try to feel as good as possible for as much as we can?

Consumption:
Banana
25 almonds
Chicken pesto sandwich
Breaded chicken breast fried in olive oil
Baked potato pieces
Salad with olive oil dressing, feta and black olives
2 glasses of Champagne

Exercise:

None

My Fitness Pal indicated that equaled  1,386 calories, significantly below my daily allotment of 1,900.    I had a doctor’s appointment today so I could not eat until about noon.

Jane Leighton
1/14/2011 08:39:01 pm

I think I was around your age when I discovered that I felt better when I did not eat red meat. It has been amazing to me to learn what foods make me feel better or worse. So indeed why not eat something that leaves you feeling good?

Reply
napoleon
1/15/2011 12:06:14 am

yes, DIE ANYWAY. that's the sad truth about any endeavor, that no matter how hard we work at .... whatever, we are all hastening into that big chute together. this morning i was skiing with friends, and we were talking about a high-school age boy who was just killed in a skiing accident. such a sad thing for our community, and for his family and friends, but one thing we noted was that he probably felt complete exhilaration, complete satisfaction and control of his body, right before he died. i'd like to feel satisfaction and exhilaration at that moment too, or at least to feel I had done the very best i could with the short time on earth i am given. hard to feel that, i know from experience, when i have eaten myself sick, and when my body feels out of control. thinking about death, as you point out, is not only sobering but centering when you're trying to decide how you want to live.

Reply
bs
1/16/2011 07:05:04 am

You are what you eat really is the truth. Thanks for the reminder! I'im impressed by your continued efforts, and look forward reading more entries!

Reply
Your Elder Cousin K
1/16/2011 07:08:45 am

Well Conspicuous, the good news in our family is that though we all die anyway that our family dies fast and immediate from heart failure so you won't have to be sick or in pain for long. I am 49, the same age your uncle/my dad had his first heart attack... that has opened my eyes and I keep in communication about heart and health with my doctor. I also have someone close who has some natural resources for just about EVERYTHING so we'll see if we can lend you a hand. I'm watching you and here to help if I can and hopefully you'll inspire me, as my ideal weight is in the same range you're shooting for...

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.