Conspicuous Consumption
 
In 2010 the universe began to send me subtle messages about my body and health, that the long run of taking both for granted could be coming to an end.  I had a cholesterol test early in the year that was headed in the wrong direction.  My level had hovered in the 230s for the past several years and this one was in the 250s.  That was enough to get my doctor’s attention.  He said current thinking had evolved and that cholesterol above 200 should be treated, especially for persons with a family history of heart disease, such as mine.  I was resistant to taking medication.  We re-tested and the level was back in the 230s, but the doctor still thought I should start treatment.  His soft sell was that there are rarely side effects from the medication and a potential positive side effect could be reduced chance of dementia in old age.  I asked for the summer to “get in shape” and “lose weight”. 

Meanwhile, I was nursing a persistent groin injury that did not seem to be getting any better, making it painful to do any type of sprint.  My doctor tactfully suggested I might need to work my abdominal muscles more in order to work through it.  In tennis, one of the great joys of my life, my shoulder hurt every time I tried to serve hard.  The worst was visiting my parents over the summer at the lake and not being able to get up on one ski.  Humiliating.  What was happening?  I was 45 years old and falling apart. 

Admitting defeat, I started taking the cholesterol medicine my doctor recommended.  Fortunately, I responded well to it and by taking one little pill once a day my cholesterol level went down almost 100 points -.ake that dementia.

As I stated earlier, at the end of the fall, I started a new job.  With the stress of moving through the learning curve, I overate and therefore ended 2010 near a personal weight high point.  It was not a pretty picture from the ledge I found myself on as the year ended.  Clearly, I need to make a change.

Consumption:

Small  roast beef sandwich
Salad with feta cheese
Pasta salad
Tomato soup
4 starburst candies
10 almonds
4 crackers with pepperjack cheese
Chips and salsa
Bean burrito topped with cheese and sour crème
Rice

Exercise:

None

My Fitness Pal indicates I consumed my target of 1900 calories today.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.