Conspicuous Consumption
 
I know that for me, stress plays a big role in my overeating.  I started a new job this past fall and struggled to come up the learning curve and “establish” myself.  I suppose in an effort to “sooth” my internal world, I stuffed myself silly.  Its hard to analyze my actions rationally.  I think the “thought” process was, this tastes good, this feels good (at least at first), I can control this, therefore, I am going to do it.  During that time I was also working some late hours and so my exercise routine often was sacrificed as well – a bad combination.  The result was a weight high point just before Christmas at 224 lbs.  Logically, I realize that overeating is a bad coping mechanism for stress.  I also realize that exercise would be a much more healthy approach to managing stress if I can just make it my  priority.  I understand that our President works out for about an hour a day up to 5 days a week.  I know my job is not quite that stressful or important  as his, so I will try and follow his example.

Food:
Cheerios and bran chex cereal in milk
25 almonds
Cup of Thai soup- coconut milk
Breadstick
Roast pork
Coleslaw
Brie and crackers
1 Beer

Exercise:

None

My Fitness Pal calculated I consumed 2036 calories – 136 over my daily goal.

Jane Leighton
1/20/2011 11:34:39 pm

Without exercise, especially outdoor exercise, it is really hard for me to relieve stress. The outdoors is part of it and the exercise the other part. When I can't get out, yoga is the best substitute. Yoga at home is still yoga.

Reply
TCIL
1/23/2011 11:41:51 am

Congratulations on the 10 pounds!!! I applaud your awareness of knowing that you want to make eating changes first, experience success with those changes, and then go from there. Yoga has also been life changing for me in terms of staying centered and learning how to carry that calm into other areas of life. Keep up the good work!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.