Conspicuous Consumption
 
About my endeavor a wise man once said,  “it is a good start, let’s see.”  That wisdom is based on the knowledge that many human endeavors founder as the initial enthusiasm wears off.  Certainly, New Year’s resolutions (like mine) are fraught with this type of peril and often come to an end within 2 or 3 weeks.   I humbly realize that the chances of my success are directly related to my ability to consistently apply my chosen methods for weight loss over a long period of time, as in the rest of my life.  When I do My Fitness Pal entry’s it converts a day’s worth of eating into a message like “if you keep eating the way you did today in 5 weeks you will weigh X.”  I have to admit the first time I saw that message I felt mighty disappointed.  The program generally aims to have you lose a healthy 1 lb per week.  Although the message was meant to be encouraging, when I saw only 5 lbs in 5 weeks, I panicked, thinking “how can I do this?”  The weight of the task felt too heavy and I thought, “how can I ever make it that far?”  I am an American and therefore I want, I demand, instant gratification.  Never mind that it took 26 years to gain this extra weight – I want it all gone in 2 or 3 weeks.  As I tried to regroup, I thought what if I think about it in terms of trying to run a marathon.  In that analogy, I have just passed the 0.5 mark with 25.7 more miles to go.  As the wise man said, “it is a good start, let’s see.”

Consumption:

Honey Nut Cheerios and Bran Chex with milk
1 bran muffin
Orange
Apple
Tuna sandwich made with an English muffin
2 carrots
1 glass of milk
Caesar salad with grilled salmon
Two flatbread crackers with brie
Sunflower seeds

Exercise:

None

My Fitness Pal calculated this food at 2000 calories, 100 over my goal.

Jane Leighton
1/17/2011 08:28:07 pm

Well I suppose you could say "that's a good start, let's see" about any worthwhile endeavor--marriage, parenting, a new job, buying a house. I would prefer to think of it as pursuing an important dream.

Reply
TCIL
1/18/2011 02:33:17 am

You are right - despite our shared cultural desire for instant gratification, it is a marathon and you will win at the end by feeling so much better, being healthier, and living longer. Be patient and gentle with yourself when you feel discouraged. I agree with the comment from yesterday that our society encourages sedentary behavior in so many ways, but bodies are designed for movement! My body hurts when I don't move! When I have trouble getting motivated for exercise, I try to remind myself of how good I will feel when I'm done, versus how hard it is to get started. Another thing that is sobering, but true, is that those of us who are 40+ have lower metabolism rates than we used to, so we're going to have to either work harder and/or longer to lose weight and maintain a healthy weight. For what it's worth, the best success I've ever had in losing weight was walking 60-90 minutes a day (either all at once or spread out over the day) because it kept me in the lower heart rate fat burning zone. We have to prioritize time for our health and taking care of ourselves, because if we don't, who will?

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.