Conspicuous Consumption

2012

12/31/2011

1 Comment

 
Looking back on my experiment last year, on the one hand you could call it a failure.  I set a goal, made progress toward it and then fell back into old habits and lost my initiative.  I ended the year at 218 lbs, just 6 below where I started the year and 13 above my low point for the year.  But on the other hand, I had the first three months of last year where I did have the initiative and felt good about my progress.  As I start this new year, I am a bit wiser.  I know for instance that if I consume just 1900 calories a day and exercise regularly, I will lose weight - at least down to 205 lbs, which feels really good.  I plan to do that.  Also, I have enjoyed this process of writing and then receiving comments and support.  It has opened  a creative part of my life that I believe is important and want to continue.  I know some people are worried about the Mayan calendar and the world coming to an end.  In my case, I view it as a new beginning and a chance to start again.
napoleon
1/23/2012 09:13:26 am

you know, a little creativity here, a little feedback there, a little exercise elsewhere--all of it is good, all of it is a step along the path. if you feel a little wiser and you know that there is a method that works, that's better than last year. having seen you pretty recently, i thought you looked damned good. especially coming out of the woods in the dark....

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.