Conspicuous Consumption
 
I am all in favor of rest.  There is nothing I like better on a Sunday afternoon than to lay down on the couch with the newspaper and read until I feel very relaxed and my eyes start to droop.  I find a good nap to be restorative and refreshing.

The problem is when we start to rest too much.  There is a lot of rest built into the modern life.  For example, I work in an office  and a significant portion of each day is spent sitting looking at a computer screen or talking on the telephone.  Then there are all the little choices we make:  do I stand or sit on the metro? do I walk up the stairs or ride the elevator?  I consider myself to be "active",  but when I think back over the last several years, I realize that I probably managed to exercise on average only two to three times per week.  Even then, I had a "comfortable" exercise routine and I was not really pushing very hard - I was coasting or you could say "resting".  I remember in one high school class we learned that a body at rest stays at rest.  I would say that is true.  One more point about rest, the ultimate rest is cardiac arrest.

Consumption:

honey nut Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with skim milk
1 banana
12 almonds
chicken pesto sandwich
hummus and pita bread
Grilled chicken breast kabob
White rice with yogurt sauce
Glass of milk
4 slices of cheddar cheese with crackers


Exercise:

10 minutes rowing machine
30 minutes running on treadmill doing 10 minute miles
10 minutes of weight lifting
2 minutes of crunches

My Fitness Pal calculated that I earned 400 extra calories today.  I was well within my daily limit 



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.