Conspicuous Consumption
 
As you know, I chose the metaphor of finding the right path over the mountain to symbolize me reaching my healthy goal weight.  If getting to a healthy weight is like crossing a mountain, then for me getting below 200 lbs will be like crossing the Continental Divide.  In college, after gaining the freshman ten, as my body started to take on adult proportions, I recall getting near 185 lbs.  For me, then, 200 lbs seemed far, far away.  I recall thinking then, that as I grew older, I might gradually gain a little weight, but that I would never, ever weigh 200 lbs.  In that way it was like the Maginot Line I discussed earlier, it was a threshold I would never allow myself to cross.  

Today I weighed in at 208 lbs and I was thrilled!!! It meant I had lost 16 lbs since the beginning of the year and am now below 210.  I think about how heavy a 15 lb dumbbell feels when I pick it up and now that much weight and a little more is gone from my body hopefully forever. 

In the same way I used to think I would never let myself weigh above 200 lbs, I have now weighed over 200 lbs for so long, at least ten years, that I began to think it was impossible for me to ever weigh under that amount  again.  Now I am inside of 210 with good momentum.  I am starting to think it is possible again.  The air is thin up here, the vegetation is sparse, but Spring is coming and I want to cross the Continental Divide.

Consumption:

Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with milk
half a grapefruit
Chicken pesto sandwich
Cup of chicken, corn bisque soup
Granny smith apple with dried cranberries and blue cheese
Grilled chicken breast
brocoli
cheese tortilini in red sauce
vanilla yogurt
apple
red grapes

Exercise:

5 minutes of weights
10 minutes rowing 
30 minutes rowing on the treadmill

My Fitness Pal said I was 600 calories under my goal after factoring in the exercise.
betty
2/11/2011 05:29:13 am

terrific climbing - amazing endurance, steadfast devotion -the mountain and you are smaller!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.