Conspicuous Consumption
 
Tonight I tried contra dancing for the first time.  It was a blast.  There were lots of times where I was completely lost and felt like a fool, but then some kind stranger would shout instructions and get me going back in the right direction.  The strange thing about that kind of dancing is you dance with multiple partners and have to adjust your style slightly for each one.  Some dancers were old and seemingly fragile.  Others were demure and some were pushy.  I liked the music and the challenge of trying to figure it out.  I had heard that it would make me sweat and this was true.  I needed to towel off between each dance - sorry partners.  There was not a exact match on My Fitness Pal.  The closest was line dancing and for two hours it shows a calorie burn of over 800 calories.  Based on the amount of sweat produced, I would say that was in the ballpark.  In addition to being fun, it is a legitimate aerobic exercise - so get out there and contra.

Consumption:

Cereal with skim milk
Banana
Chicken pesto sandwich
Half a steak burrito
Chips and salsa with guacamole
Beer

Exercise:

Two hours of contra dancing

I was significantly below my calorie goal for the day after factoring in the dancing.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.