Conspicuous Consumption
 
I was walking my dog yesterday morning through the neighborhood when I saw a young couple, who I do not know, saying good-bye.  At least, that is what I assume they were doing.  The were standing by a car, or rather the man was standing.  The young woman had her legs wrapped strongly around his hips, their arms were in full embrace and they were lost in a deep kiss.  What passion, what intensity and enthusiasm, I thought.  Now THAT is a good-bye!!!  As I started to turn my head, embarrassed to see such an intimate moment, and starting to feel pangs of nostalgia wash over me, another neighbor, who I do know drove between me and the lovers.  This  woman is closer to my age, in her late forties.  I am not sure whether she saw me, the lovers, or not.  She seemed to be looking straight ahead.  To me her face looked slightly weary, perhaps she was lost in her thoughts about her job, her husband or three kids.

I could not help but contrast these visions with another I had seen earlier in the week.  I visited a funeral home a few nights ago to pay my respects to the family of my neighbor who lived across the street from us for fifteen years.  She had passed away  and  I recently figured out that she must have been 68 when we moved here to start our family.  At that time, she was still grieving the loss of her husband who I never met.    She was reclusive and suffered from a mental illness, but she was also fiercely independent, living alone, mowing her own yard and walking regularly more than a mile  to and from the grocery store.  At times it seemed her greatest joy in life was tending the beautiful flowers she grew in her yard.  

At the funeral home, like a coward I stayed near the front door of the reception room, meeting a couple of her grown children for the first time.  I few times though, I could not help but to steal a glance towards the rear of the room, where, with an open casket, it was clear that all the vitality had gone out of the bloom.     
YFIL
6/25/2011 11:57:02 pm

The contrasts that you draw here are stark and sobering. The three short paragraphs are a treatise on essential experiences of life and death. Quite remarkable that you understood the significance of what you saw and conveyed it poignantly!

Reply
TCIL
7/11/2011 03:26:26 am

Yes, CC, life is precious. I believe that when death becomes more real for us, whether or not we cross that funeral home room doesn't matter, but hopefully it helps us learn to live better each day. My goal is to live each day fully and hopefully conquer that greatest battle of all that you mention, our thoughts, our mind!

Reply
napoleon
7/13/2011 11:00:00 am

i had lunch with an 85-year-old woman yesterday. the conversation turned to her former chairing of the board at her retirement community. she said, "ah, the good old days." when somebody said, well, why don't you run for the board again? she said, "don't have the stamina. and i'm not interested anymore." i thought this was a pretty good description of the last stage of life. but the early stage, the car hood make-out stage, is where you have the stamina, and you're INTENSELY interested. then the middle stage, you have some stamina, but you're distracted. but maybe it's nice to get to the end and care much less than you did. makes letting go easier. i think the key is to enjoy each stage as much as you can, whatever it brings. when i mentioned the above story to my 18-year-old daughter, she said, yes, you might not have stamina, but think of all that time you'll have to READ.

Reply
jane leighton
7/17/2011 08:39:53 pm

I'm hoping this blog is not a faded bloom because I love to read it.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.