Conspicuous Consumption
 
As mentioned recently, one of the more positive things CC has done is to continue to exercise semi-regularly, therefore, maintaining some semblance of cardio-vascular health.  That is why when I first heard about an upcoming 8K race a couple of months ago the idea of it intrigued me.  When I jog for exercise it is typically 2-3 miles.  A few times I have tried to run home from work which is 4 miles with the last part steep up hill, that  I find very challenging.  Therefore, a 5 mile race seemed just challenging enough.  Could I do it?

A local non-profit where I volunteer was helping to sponsor the race to raise money.  The race was to be held in my neighborhood.  It seemed that the moon and the stars had aligned to provide me with this challenge.  Of course, I waited until the last possible minute to register debating the merits for and against, but last Friday night before the race on Sunday, I signed up which gave me at least $30 worth of commitment .  The next day on Saturday I stopped by a local running store to pick up my race packet.  There, starting to feel panicked, I bought new running shorts and a glide stick, hopefully eliminating chafing as a potential obstacle and upping the commitment to $80.  

When I  run indoors on a treadmill, I usually run at a pace of 10 minute miles for up to 3 miles, which I find very challenging.  Therefore, I set as my goal a pace of 12 minutes per mile, figuring I would need to slow down my pace to go further.  If at all possible, I did not want to stop and walk.  On Sunday morning the race started a 8 am and I was the first person up and out of the house.  It felt cold to be wearing shorts and a t-shirt but I knew I would heat up when I started running.  The race atmosphere was festive with several hundred people participating.  I could not help but note that the median age was at least 20 years younger than myself, but I was happy to be part of it.

As the time came near to start, I positioned myself near the back of the pack, correctly reasoning I would be slower than the average.  Like other races I have participated in, the beginning is very interesting as you jockey for position in a crowded field while being passed and passing others.  Eventually, I settled into a reasonably comfortable pace which hopefully would be sustainable.  I picked  temporary markers among the other  runners who I would try to keep up with.  The course itself was not very interesting - just down a road and back.  The exception was that I usually passed this way in a car, so I was much more aware of subtle changes in grade.  From the turnaround point at mile 2.5 to mile 3.5 was a gradual uphill grade that felt particularly nasty.  However, after it was over, I felt more confident I could make it the rest of the way.  At 46 years old I did have my doubts and wondered about testing my heart in this way.  

As I turned the corner and headed for the proverbial home stretch, trying to stave of the sick, nauseous  feeling of my body rebelling against this indignity,  I glanced at the clock over the finish line.  It said 45 minutes, indicating I had run  9 minute miles and I knew the universe had smiled down upon me once again.
jane leighton
11/2/2011 08:07:43 am

CC I am absolutely delighted you are writing again--I love to read the blog. Good for you for undertaking the race, and my goodness 9 MINUTE MILES. It is always a challenge to participate in a race, but I've always been glad I did even if I came in behind the others.

Reply
napoleon
11/2/2011 11:26:31 am

that's great! very hard to maintain a pace like that! and so good, to test your reserves of strength and endurance. i wonder how you felt the next time you laced up the shoes? more capable?

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.