Conspicuous Consumption
 
When I was younger one of my favorite shows was Carter Country.  It was a comedy set in a small southern town.  One of the funniest characters was the mayor who was a silly little man.  One of his signature lines which he often said to the sheriff Roy, who was somewhat wiser, was "handle it, handle it," while he rolled his fingers in the air, distancing himself from the problem and the responsibility.  That would always make us laugh.  

On a more serious note last night I e-mailed  my cousin who lives on the coast in a hurricane zone.  A big one was coming her way and I asked her how it was going.  She is responsible for two kids, a house and a 13 year old dog among other things.  She said they were getting heavy wind and flooding.  When she tried to put the dog in the garage he ran off.  She tracked him down and dragged him home through the storm.  "I am handling it," she said. 

I would say so.  When life throws hard things at you, that is what we do.  We handle it because there is really no other choice.  We are brave even when we do not feel like it because there is no one else to do it and there are people and pets counting on us.  I guess if we thought hard enough about it there really is another choice, but it is so small and weak and smallit is really not worth considering.  As long as we still have breath and are able, we will just keep handling it.  

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.