Conspicuous Consumption
 
A couple of years ago for Christmas, my parents gave me a book written by Roy Williams the basketball coach for the men's varsity team and UNC-Chapel Hill.  I was interested not only because UNC is my favorite basketball team, but because Roy Williams grew up in the same town that I did.  He came from an extremely impoverished background, a broken home and I believe he was the first person in his family to go to and graduate from college.  Despite those obstacles, he has become one of the best and most respected coaches in the game.  He attributes his success to hard work, and I never realized before reading the book how hard it is to be a coach at that level, the focus and intensity it takes to perform again and again.  

Somehow all these years I thought I could be healthy simply by thinking about it, hoping somehow that I could magically eat whatever and as much as I wanted and still be at a healthy weight.  What I am starting to realize is in order to achieve and maintain my goal weight, I am going to have to stay focused and intense for a long period of time,  as in the rest of my life. And as I am sweating on the treadmill, lifting a heavy weight above my head or crunching an ab one more time, it is starting to dawn on me that I, too, am going to have to do some hard work.

I have been lucky in that I have always had enough of everything I have ever needed and I did not come from a broken home.  In fact, today my parents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary.  I am very proud of them for accomplishing that and although they did not say it, I am sure to get there, at times, involved some very hard work.  Congratulations Mom and Dad!  I love you!!!

Consumption:

Cheerios and Corn Flakes cereal with skim milk
Half a grapefruit
One banana
Beef and broccoli hunan
Apple
Havarti cheese and crackers
2 spring rolls
Wonton Soup
Flank steak dipped in vinegar sauce
Red grapes
1 beer

Exercise

20 minutes on a stairmaster
10 minutes of rowing machine
10 minutes of weight lifting

My Fitness Pal said I earned 400 extra calories today from m


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.