Conspicuous Consumption
 
At one of my mom's class reunions she saw an old friend who was overweight.  His body was breaking down and he was having a hard time moving around.  Clearly frustrated with his situation, he asked his friends who are the same age, "How did I get like this?"  The answer sounds cold hearted, but I can say it because I suffer from the same affliction, "One bite at a time."  It's like the old question "How do you eat an elephant?" except that its "How do you become overweight?"  A better answer might be one mindless bite at a time when we eat more that we need to sustain ourselves at a healthy level.  The harder question, one that has occupied wiser men than me, is why to we do unto ourselves that which is harmful?  The answer to that question  is not easy. I ask myself how I went twenty years of my life, really my prime health years, carrying too much weight and feeling embarrassed to take my shirt off?  I do not think it is too late though, not for me or for my mom's friend.  It feels really good to have lost 18 lbs.  It feels like a solid achievement and I am ready to lose some more.  Although the bad habits and patterns are not easy to change, I am starting to believe that they can be, one mindful bite at a time.

Consumption:

Apple cinnamon Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with skim milk
Banana
Chicken pesto sandwich,
Cup of Pepper and lentil soup
Chopped apple with blue cheese
Orange
Cup of chicken fried rice
red grapes
6 slices of cheddar cheese and ritz crackers
Apple
Apple cider

Exercise:

None

I was 150 calories over my daily goal today - too muc


12/30/2011 10:56:54 pm

THX for info

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.