Conspicuous Consumption
 
Tonight I was watching T.V. with my son.  I got up grabbed a big handful of potato chips and sat back down to eat them.  "Whoa!" my son said, "what are you doing?"  "Ask yourself if it is worth it?" he wisely counseled, as in why would you do something in direct contradiction to a goal you are trying to achieve?  Yep, I pondered, as I chewed the potato chips.

Consumption:

Honey Nut Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with skim milk
Grapefruit
Chickpea salad
Spinach/cheese Croissant
Milk
4 slices of Havarti Cheese with Pita chips
banana
One piece of pepperoni pizza
Two large handfuls of potato chips
Apple cider

Exercise:

10 minutes of crunches and lifting weights
10 minutes of rowing machine
30 minutes of running on the treadmill at a pace of 10 minutes per mile

My Fitness Pal calculated I was inside my daily goal for calories after factoring in my exercise, however, it calculated the two large handfuls of chips at 600 calories.  The answer is they are definitely not worth it.


 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.