Conspicuous Consumption
 
The other night I attended a gala for work honoring a very worthy organization's many years of achievements.  It was a very nice event with everyone dressed up and important dignitaries speechifying.  When I first arrived it was networking/cocktail hour.  Waiters were bringing around trays of glasses of wine and sparkling water.  I chose the water, thank you very much, and was grateful to have the healthy option.

Then at the main event we were all seated at tables.  Again we were offered wine and this time I accepted and over the course of the evening one glass became two.  I have become conscious that each alcoholic drink is about 150 calories, minimum, so two glasses becomes a significant portion of your daily calories.

During the speeches, dinner was brought out.  The first course was a salad, another healthy choice and I ate all of mine.  The dinner plate was baked quarter chicken in some type of sauce with mashed potatoes and asparagus.  Again, it was put in front of me, and I ate the whole thing, every bite except for this strange thing that may have once been a lemon and did not taste very good.

After a respectful interlude the waiters appeared again bringing plates with a slice of cheesecake for each guest.  There was a momentary dilemma where I could have nobly held up my hand and said no thanks, please pass me by and just watched the others eat their just desserts.  Instead I took the low road and allowed it to be placed in front of me.  Still, I could have ignored it, pretended it wasn't there, " What cheesecake, I do not see any cheesecake?"  Or further still, I could have just eaten one or two bites, to see what it tasted like and participate gamely with the others, "Oh, isn't this delicious cheesecake?"  Within a minute I was tucking in, enjoying every last bite of that cheesecake, even turning my fork on its side to better scrape up the last blueberry sauce that was on it.

1 slice of plain cheesecake equals 300 calories.  
Tatie
3/29/2011 02:13:19 am

Thanks for making me smile - and laugh! From the "one bite at a time" to the "Brick House" to the cheesecake...I love this blog!

Reply
napoleon
3/31/2011 09:55:45 pm

yeah, me too. when i go awhile being unable to read it, catching up is a nice thing to look forward to, like reading all the doonesbury's for one week. also, dammit, who can pass up cheescake?

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.