Conspicuous Consumption
 
I knew this day was coming.  All of the signs have been there for quite awhile.  His hands are bigger than mine.  His feet have been bigger for some time.  Still, although he has been taller than my wife for over a year, I remained the tallest member of my nuclear family.  

My son turned 16 a couple of weeks ago.  Then he was away camping with a friend's family for a week.  When I picked him up last Saturday, I discreetly checked and I was still taller.  Today when he came in to talk with me he must have realized he had grown because he immediately challenged me to measure.  Standing side by side in the mirror, I knew it was not looking good.  I noticed that his eyes were above mine.  But it was not official until my daughter came in with her book.  Standing back to back, the book was placed across both of our heads.  Even I could see it was tilting down on my head.  

We have entered a new era.  From this day forward, I will always and gladly look up to my son!
YFIL
8/16/2011 10:37:58 am

How sweet . . . he is lucky to have you for a father!

Reply
napoleon
8/19/2011 11:29:15 am

the more freakish day will come when you have to look up to your daughter! it must make him proud.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.