Conspicuous Consumption
 
A friend of mine at work recently offered me a banana.  She was headed out of town and said it would go bad before she returned - plausible enough.  I like bananas and so I thanked her and accepted her gift.

I sat it on the edge of my desk.  At least three different times during the day I picked it up with the intention of eating it.  Perhaps because peeling is involved in eating a banana, each time I paused before doing so and asked myself, "Am I  hungry?"  Each time the answer was no.  Keep in mind that for me, this is a radical new question to ask myself in connection with eating.  The  odd thing to me is if I was not hungry, why did I pick up the banana in the first place?  Beyond the fact that it is yellow and therefore may have caught my eye, I have no good answer besides, because it was there.  I know people have used that answer for why they climbed high mountains or went to the moon, but this is not nearly as noble.  It seems to be a clear case of the subconscious mind at work.

Near the end of the day I became hungry and with thought and enjoyment I ate the banana.  In this case I am proud of noticing and resisting mindless eating earlier that day.  However, I realize there are many other times where the opposite happens.  Assuming that it takes me a little longer to become  fully awake in this world, in the short run this serves as a reminder to me that I should keep food out of my line of sight until mealtimes.

Consumption:

Honey Nut Cheerios with skim milk
Apple
Hummus
Grilled Vegetables
Ratatouille
Grilled flank steak
Pita bread
Protein drink
Brie and crackers
Orange
Frittata with vegetable and parmesan cheese
Chicken strips
Glass of white wine


Exercise:

None

My Fitness Pal indicated I broke even today in terms of meeting my daily goa



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.