Conspicuous Consumption
 
For those of you in the military, P.T. has a special meaning.  I believe it stands for physical training and each person is supposed to do a certain amount of it each week to maintain a minimally acceptable fitness level.

In my family, those were my father's father's initials and some people called him by that.  I called him Grandaddy.  My grandfather worked in a cigarette factory and he also farmed.  He did whatever it took to take care of his family, his wife who was a  home-maker and his five children.  He took me to the cigarette factory when I was a little boy.  I remember seeing cigarettes rolling down by the hundreds and the wonderful smell of tobacco.  Mostly though, by the time I knew him, he was finished with that work and just farmed.  

A common thing for me then was to see him in his khaki work shirt and pants, his brogans, his hat with his pipe firmly between his teeth as he drove his tractor cutting hay.  He was a hard worker and a strong man who, into his seventies,  could still through a 40-lb bale of hay from the ground to the top of a pile on the back of a pick-up truck in one motion.  I think he was most happy outdoors.  I remember following him around on cold mornings to help feed and water his cows.    He also kept bees for the honey  and did not have to wear a bee suit when he took the honey.  I think it was because the bees could sense he was not afraid of  them.  

My father reminded me today that my grandfather had his first heart attack when he was 61 - the same age his father had died of a heart attack.  My grandfather had been feeling pain and pressure in the days before.    He had gone to see a doctor about it and was in the hospital when it occurred.  Thereafter, he always carried medication with him.  He had another "episode" a few years later when he was up trimming an apple tree.  He took the pills and laid back on a branch to wait for it to pass.

When he was 78 he had his third and final heart attack, and that one took  him out.  He had spent the day  working with my Uncle Butch, helping him build his lake house.  We all still miss him, but it was understood that he died happy, doing what he wanted to do, which is not a bad way to go.

My father has told me a few times that there is something about the way I look that reminds  him of my grandfather.    I can't say that I see it myself.  But I do remember that when I was in the seventh grade and really chubby,  my grandfather told me he had been the same way at that age, as fat as a butterball.  He reassured me then by saying I would grow out of it like he did, and I was relieved when I did.  

If we share some of the same physical characteristics, I hope through efforts that I take now, and modern medicine, to avoid having heart disease.  However, I hope to be as lucky as my grandfather, to live to be a relatively healthy 78 year old and  when I die be doing what makes me happy.  

Consumption:

Honey nut Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with skim milk
banana
Apple
1/4 of a beef burrito
2 pieces of chicken kabob with rice
3 slices of gouda cheese with crackers
1/4 broasted chicken with the skin on
cole slaw
15 steak french fries
Glass of apple cider
6 pieces of dark chocolate 

Exercise:

None
glass of apple cider

My Fitness Pal calculated I was within my daily calorie limit of 1900.



Ruth
3/2/2011 01:06:19 am

Liked this story.

Reply
Elder Cousin K
4/6/2011 08:20:56 am

It is becoming obvious to me that we share genes from our fathers but your mom/my aunt has something on her side of the family that we do not share. Your 230 cholesterol that dropped to 130 with Crestor (much congrats) in my case was was 280 down to 210. Then considering my dad's first heart attack was at 49, the age I am now, maybe I should be doing the blogging.

Keep up the good work!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.