Conspicuous Consumption
 
At my college there was a magical place called The Training Table.  Kids who were there on athletic scholarships got to eat there - not me.  From what I heard, they had everything good you could ever want: steaks, pizza, spaghetti, ice-cream and cake - every night and as much as you wanted.  Come to think of it, maybe it was just an elaborate fantasy of mine.  I never ate there myself  or saw it, and I never knew anyone who did - hey, it was a big school.  Real or not, it became a fixture in my mind, as did the expression that followed: pushing away from the training table.  The idea was  that sooner or later, after you had stopped competing at a high level  of athletics, after you had stopped burning thousands of extra calories a day through training, that you would have to push away from the training table or else you would get fat.  Mind you, I never competed at a college level in any type of sport.  My athletic "career" ended in high school  some time after my sophomore year.  Regardless, I understood the concept even if it has taken me a few years to act on it.  Just like I fantasized about the proverbial training table, one day I knew, I would have to push away.

Consumption:

Honey Nut Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with skim milk
Banana
24 almonds
Chicken Pesto sandwich
Carrots
2 Apples
Spaghetti with meatballs and sauce
1 slice of bread
One glass of white wine

Exercise
10 minutes of yoga
10 minutes of rowing machine
Eliptical machine for 20 minutes holding 7.5 lb barbell in each hand

My Fitness Pal calculated I earned 400 extra calories today.  Unfortunately, spaghetti and meatballs have a lot of calories so I just broke even.





Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.