Conspicuous Consumption
 
I have always had this vague notion that losing weight in the summer is easy.  My logic is that the weather is warm and therefore I am more likely to be outside and active.  Likewise, summer is THE season for fruits and vegetables, so my diet should naturally be more healthy.  You can see where this is going.  The outcome of these two happy circumstances would be that I would lose weight without really trying, hence the living is easy.  Except that it ain't.  Rather than losing weight this summer, I have gained some back.  I feel it in the  waist of my pants and the tightening of my belts.  I have been feeling too afraid to get on the scales to see what the damage is, but I forced myself to do it yesterday and I weighed 214 lbs.  I have gained back half of what I lost since the beginning of the year.  

It is true that I have been playing more tennis this summer, which I love and generally is good exercise.  There was even one day where I jogged to our community pool - two miles away, swam 20 laps and then jogged home.  The problem has been a lassitude of my attitude.  Exercise this summer has been more as I feel like it  or as an opportunity comes up, rather than regular, planned, and vigorous.  Likewise, although I have been eating more fruits and vegetables, I have also been eating more of everything else and not writing it down, keeping track or holding myself accountable.  I have been counting on increased exercise to keep the balance tipped in the right direction, but it has not worked out that way.  At the end of June, I returned from a vacation determined to get back on the straight and narrow.  I viewed July and August as my best opportunity to get below 200 lbs.  Now July has come and mostly gone and I see I it will require tremendous effort to get back near my low point (205 lbs).  At least the catfish are jumping.  
mimidude
7/21/2011 12:40:22 pm

It's a hard thing, this shedding of pounds. That old saying "a moment on the lips is forever on the hips" just about nails it. Keep at it though. It's worth it. You're looking good!

Reply
YFIL
7/22/2011 06:39:43 am

Well ---t . . . after all of that work . . . here you are . . . Thanks for letting us know. Has to be hard to tell. Gird your loins. You know how to do it. You know that you CAN do it!

Reply
jane leighton
7/22/2011 08:07:31 am

Oh CC, my sympathies are with you. I too have had the fantasy that fruits and vegetables and summertime would make the weight just melt away. Alas the last time that happened to me was when I was 19.

This weight stuff is tricky and just goes on the way it wants to without major work. You know how to make it work again, and I've got your back.

Reply
jane leighton
7/22/2011 08:08:59 am

Oh CC, I too had the fantasy that fruits and vegetables and summer would make weight just melt away. The last time that heppened to me was at 19.

This weight is just a big deal to fight with, and I've got your back. So glad to have you back writing again.

Reply
TCIL
7/25/2011 10:03:08 am

I'm right with ya CC! Done the same thing. The ridiculously hot weather doesn't help - not making excuses - just saying...

In any case, you can look back over your blog and the past few months and see that you can do - it is possible - and you will do it. I have no doubt.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.