Conspicuous Consumption
 
I attended the funeral today of a man I know through work.  I would not call us close friends, but we had worked together over the years and he was well respected in my industry.  At the funeral, the story was told about how ten years ago he had a heart issue.  As a result he became obsessed with his health including changing his diet, adding exercise and meditation.  Then, two years ago, out of the blue, he was diagnosed with lung cancer - never smoked a day in his life.  The moral of the story is that we are all going to die someday and while we like to think we are in control of it, we are not.  My grandfather, Papa Joe, used to say (about death), "If you are not ready, you better get ready."  This from a man who lived through a World War and made it to the ripe old age of 86.  His point was that you should get right with God because you never know when you might meet him.  Regardless of your religious beliefs, those seem like good words to live by.

At the funeral, they told about my friend's fascination with Vietnam and how he helped build schools there.  They also spoke about great love affair with his wife whom he met in college and was married to for 45 years.  He was very close with his family and they all respected his wise gentleness.  The story was told that right as he found out about the cancer, he learned that his daughter was pregnant with his second grandchild.  My friend was Jewish and he told his daughter that she would not be able to name the grandchild after him because he intended to meet the child and get to know him - and he did.  Sometimes we use the phrase, "live fully in the moment", so often it becomes a cliche.  In this case, however, my friend made the phrase new again.  Shalom and blessed be.

Consumption:

McDonald's sausage and cheese biscuit (450 calories)
Tuna bagel
pickle
cole-slaw
apple
steak
roasted potatoes
brocoli
Toasted wheat bread
Milk
Glass of white wine

Exercise:

None 

My fitness pal calculated I was 100 calories inside of my daily goal.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.