Conspicuous Consumption
 
We snicker at those commercials that come on usually later at night.  In one of them we see an older couple outdoors in two bathtubs side by side.  They look knowingly at one another and we are left to wonder:  how did they get there and what  did they wear?  

Of  course the pills he took were for a different purpose, but I want to praise my little brown pills.  As I mentioned in my post, Other Kinds of Signs, I have naturally high cholesterol and a family history of heart disease.  At my doctor's urging, I recently started taking Crestor, one tiny little pill a day, which lowered my overall level from the 230s to the 130s - a hundred point decrease.  And I am very proud to say that with my recent focus on diet and exercise,  as of my last physical, it had gone down another 30 points to 102, which was personally astonishing to me.  My "bad" cholesterol had gone down as well and is now below 50, and I feel very good about that.  I feel like I took a risk factor that I thought I just had to live with and turned it on its head.  I realize  that cholesterol is just one measure of good/bad health, but it make me feel like going outside and getting in  my bathtub!

Consumption:

Honey Nut Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal
three pieces of bacon
Tuna sandwich
2 apples
2 pieces of white pizza
2 pieces of bread
Greek salad with grilled chicken
1 glass of red wine
Apple cider

Exercise:

None

My Fitness Pal calculated I was 100 calories over my daily goa
jane leighton
2/25/2011 08:06:07 pm

That's terrific! Who knows, maybe you won't even need that little pill. Your arteries will be clean as a whistle.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.