Conspicuous Consumption
 
One thing we always do in my yoga class, appropriately at the very end, is the corpse pose, savasana.  I always look forward to it because it is really relaxing and by that point in the class my body has worked hard holding  many poses.  The basic concept is that you lie there on the mat, usually on your back as relaxed and tension free as you can be, as if you were, well, a corpse.  Believe it or not this is hard for some people with racing minds, but it is not for me.  I have always been able to enjoy a good nap and therefore I am always slightly annoyed when the little bell rings signaling it is time to resume movement.

Except today, after I assumed the position and took several deep cleansing breaths and started to relax, I noticed a slight tickling sensation on my left leg that felt like a fly had landed on me.  Trying to remain as corpse-like as possible, I flicked my fingers toward it wishing it would move away.  It  took off, but sure as s___, in a few seconds it was back in a slightly different location.  Now I started to worry that the instructor, who tends to wander around during this time might notice and I did not want to attract this type of attention.  I mean, why was this fly singling me out from all the other people?  Sure, it has been a while since I have been to class and  maybe I sweat alot, but is that any reason to come crawl on me?  I realize I am older than many of people there.  Maybe the fly senses I am closer to death than the others and hopes he will get lucky.  

Finally, and this made me laugh aloud right there  on my mat, I realized that it was very corpse-like of me to attract flies and it must mean that I have mastered that position.  The difference though, and this I presume, is that a corpse does not notice when a fly lands on him or her, and that, for now, makes all the difference.
jane leighton
7/31/2011 08:35:55 pm

Mastering the corpse pose, huh? Just shows your ability to succeed at even the most difficult of tasks! This is a WONDERFUL piece of writing.

Reply
napoleon
8/1/2011 04:07:36 am

yes, the difference: you are alive. i read a book this spring by a woman channeling the words of a group of spirits, "the committee," she calls them, who assert that we are all here because, in spite of our eternal essence that lives on, that exists both before and after our lifetime, we have somehow chosen to be here, in this body, at this time and place, to learn whatever lessons are offered. so being in a body is chosen, both s privilege and a burden, and the only way to learn certain kinds of lessons. maybe it's a pleasure, being so sensitive in this body of yours, that you notice being landed on by a fly. if we were that mindful of everything that happened in and to our bodies, we might appreciate them more, and take our short stint in them more seriously.

i also second jane leighton's comment that this is a nice piece of writing, CC.

Reply
YFIL
8/1/2011 12:49:31 pm

That is SO FUNNY!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.