Conspicuous Consumption
 
In the last books of Harry Potter, Harry and his friends are tasked with finding and destroying the horcruxes.  These are various evil objects that have been imbued with parts of Voldemort's soul - the bad guy.  The trouble is these objects do not want to be destroyed.  While they search for a way to destroy a particularly nasty one, they wear it on a chain around their necks. The longer they wear it, the worse it makes them feel, so they have to keep passing it back and forth so they will not feel too bad.

I thought about the horcrux when a woman I work with stopped by my office the other day and offered me a canister of pretzels and peanuts.  "Its organic" she said.  Actually, she asked me to please take it from her.  She said that while it was in her possession she could not stop snacking.  Since I had tried a handful a few days before and liked it, I said yes.  I do not think from a calorie standpoint one handful is so bad.  It is mostly pretzels after all which are fairly innocuous, except they are empty, salty carbs.  The problem is that after one handful, it is so easy to reach in again and again.  The canister, which sits on the corner of my desk, calls to me, "Hey, buddy."  I am starting to see clearly now that it is indeed an evil object which I need to pass on, or better yet, destroy.

Consumption:

Cheerios and Raisin Bran cereal with skim milk
banana
4 handfuls of pretzels and peanuts (not so innocuous after all - 400 calories)
Chicken pesto sandwich
cucumbers and hummus
3 black olives
Taco and taco salad with ranch dressing
Apple cider

Exercise:

None

My Fitness Pal said I barely stayed within my calor

  
napoleon
3/17/2011 02:47:51 am

i just had a similar exchange with a student after an event involving food. he offered me an unopened bag of doritos. i said, but it's yours, take it home. he said, we don't need it at home. i said, well, i certainly don't need it at home. we looked at each other for a minute. then my mind went through this process: he is in 9th grade, an unathletic boy with glasses and some extra weight on him. he is consciously trying to put this horcrux from him. i am an adult. i can take the bag as he suggests, then throw it away. i am older and more in control of my impulses. i should help him.

what actually happened? i took the bag home and ate several handfuls right before bed, the worst time to eat junk. oh well. at least my intentions were good. i too, needless to say, have not lost any weight for TWO weeks. time for a bit more deliberate eating....

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.