Conspicuous Consumption
 
There is a picture I like taken of me  near the end of high school.  It is summertime and I am at a lake.  I have a tan and my torso is the classic V shape.  A combination of track, football, good genetics and the vigor of youth yielded a happy result of which I am proud.  To me it is literally my picture of good health.  The truth is though, that at the time it was taken, if I had seen it then, I would have likely been critical that there was a little bit of acne on my face.  It is only with the patina of time that I am able to view myself more objectively.  

These days, as a 46 year old man, I am even more critical of current photos.    The cold fact is that the beautiful head  of hair I once had is now gone and the fight now is more whether my torso will be  more pear shaped or a basic square.  Still, I realize that with enough patina of time, say when and if I am lucky enough to reach 70, I may yet look back at some of these current pictures and admire the vigor of my "youth".  

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.