Conspicuous Consumption
 
My hat goes off to all you single parents.  My wife has gone out of town for a few days and by day two, I am already yelling at the kids.  Pizza was for dinner, and while I am trying to avoid it, I ate three pieces before I drew breath.    Then there was popcorn to follow and a pack of peanut butter crackers.  Then I watched Outsourced.  What I am saying is, if I were a single parent, I would likely be quite large.  To those of you who pull it off every day with aplomb, I stand in awe.

Consumption:

Honey Nut Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with skim milk
A bowl of white bean soup
Apple salad with blue cheese and dried cranberries
Chocolate milk ( I noticed after I drank it, it contains corn syrup)
4 pieces of Papa Johns cheese pizza (1,100 calories)
popcorn
apple
pack of peanut butter crackers
cup of apple cider

Exercise:

Yoga - 15  minutes
Weight lifting - 15 minutes

According to My Fitness Pal, I was 600 calories over my goal today - ouch.
napoleon
2/24/2011 08:29:36 pm

i am a single parent and i noticed when my child went off to college that suddenly the fridge got very empty. i don't like to grocery shop anyhow--put it off for as long as i can. once she was gone, the results were truly frightening. i looked back at all the years of finishing her food, making mac and cheese because it was all she would eat, having a lot of desserts because they were fun and celebratory, something we did together. now i can eat what i want, when i want. with the help of loneliness and myfitnesspal, i've lost the equivalent of a bag of flour and a box of butter. so my hat is off to YOU, CC, because having kids at home does make it more difficult, and yet there you are, over THREE BAGS OF FLOUR LIGHTER than when you started.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.