Conspicuous Consumption
 
Now that I have been at this experiment for more than 30 days,  I am going to dare to allow myself a bit of reflection.  I have learned that starting a blog is not as scary as it first seemed, especially if you have children or a  college aged niece who are willing to help you.  I have learned that 1900 calories is a reasonable amount for me to eat each day and that I will not starve or even be particularly hungry eating that amount.  I have learned that it is easy to go way off track when I eat out at a restaurant and that most alcoholic drinks contain at least 150 calories, each.    I am beginning to believe that it is true that when I eat sweets, I crave more of them, and when I avoid sweets, as I have been doing, that craving diminishes. I have learned that most fruits and vegetables have between 50 to 100 calories each, and being good for me, I should eat more of both.  Although not the basis of my weight loss program, exercise is an important part and I feel better when I am working out.  I have learned that by publicly declaring my goal and admitting some of my shortcomings, I have a vast network of people who want me to be healthy and will support my efforts.  Finally, it feels really good to have have lost 13 lbs, a good start, and I want to keep going!

Consumption:

Cheerios and Bran Chex cereal with milk
1 piece of bacon
An orange
Red grapes
A chicken pesto sandwich
carrots
mixed fruit
Oatmeal bagel with creme cheese
3 slices of Harvarti cheese with crackers
Glass of white wine

Exercise:

None.

My Fitness Pal calculated I was 50 calories over my goal.
jane leighton
2/9/2011 01:59:41 am

You sure do have a vast network of people who want you to be healthy, and I continued to be SO proud of you and impressed with the way you are handling it. Each day I enjoy reading what you are thinking and learning.

Reply
napoleon
2/10/2011 07:48:47 am

gone but hopefully not forgotten, CC. my computer crashed this weekend and luckily there are college-aged daughters around who know how to REPAIR HARD DRIVES. i'd like to comment about the vast network. i have felt inspired watching you go through this process (i am trying it myself, just not publicly)--because you are so honest about the day to day struggles. as i noted above, things happen, life is not always a relaxing or satisfying place, and it is really easy to take comfort where you can get it, namely, in a donut or a beer. but being part of this conversation has helped me think more about what i am eating and i notice that on crappy weeks like this one, when i don't have time to exercise and am exhausted and working too hard, i scaled back the eating to compensate, almost as a matter of course. that's progress, for me. so thanks to you for opening up the door to talk about this.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.